This post has been written in response to the Stream of Consciousness Saturday for July 9/16 hosted by Linda G. Hill. For this week:

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “concentration.” Use it any way you see fit. Have fun!

socs-badge-2015

Do you remember the last time you were so immersed in something that you forgot the existence of your phone? Can you recall the feeling you got as you slowly chewed your food and appreciated every flavour instead of being hooked to the TV as you gulped down your dinner? When did you last focus on a task so hard that you forgot to keep yourself hydrated?

I’ll bet a lot of people out there can’t. As technology evolved and wrapped us all tightly around its fingers, we have forgotten what it is to take things one at a time. We are always in a hurry. We try to multi-task. We give 25% of our attention to four different chores and somehow manage to do them all. While the corporate world has done its best to convince us that it’s the most productive way to spend our time, I beg to disagree.

I found that I could recall a passage or quote from a book easily when I didn’t try to update my progress on Goodreads as I turned the pages. I don’t have to pull all-nighters studying for a test when I’ve paid full attention in class for that subject. I like my food a lot better when I’m not conversing with a friend while eating. My writing turns out much better when my phone doesn’t distract me with a shrill notification. While I can’t say that I don’t multi-task, I will say that I’m definitely more productive while focusing on one job at a time. I believe that concentrating on the task at hand and giving it one’s absolute and undivided attention yields better results than trying to divide into more pieces than one can count. What about you?

archery-660626_960_720


A lot of questions have been asked in this post. Like it if you found it thought-provoking and comment below with your answers. Happy weekend, folks! 🙂

