For my first official post on this blog, I’m combining two things – the SoCS prompt for the week by Linda G. Hill and the daily one-word prompt by the folks over at The Daily Post.

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for SoCS June 4/16 reads –

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “book.” Use any meaning of the word as your theme, or simply mention the word “book” in your post. Enjoy!

socs-badge-2015

The one-word prompt for today is The Daily Post is Childhood.


My first memory in primary school is that of walking past the library and my envy of the seniors who were allowed to set foot there. As the granddaughter of a moderately famous translator in the Kannada language and a voracious reader, it came as no surprise that I too had a deep love for literature since my early childhood. There’s a little room on the uppermost floor of my house that hardly two people can stand inside at once because it has shelves upon shelves of books. The musty odour of old editions of the bestsellers of bygone eras still fill my heart with a warmth that no amount of cocoa on cold afternoons can equal. The yellowing pages filled with fading print and the crumbling spines are a sight for sore eyes.

I still remember the days I spent lost in the imaginary worlds created by Enid Blyton once I got old enough to understand the writing style. I would sit in the backyard with the evening sun as my lamp as I devoured books after books of the Nancy Drew series when I was slightly older. I know that it took me 3 weeks to get through The Lord of the Rings in high school and it was only because I took 3 days of sick leave and read the entire time.

Time flew on and slowly but surely, books began to be replaced by slim little pieces of electronic wizardry called Kindles. I have an e-book reader on my phone now and I finish books faster than ever. More and more authors are releasing their books exclusively as e-books. Yet the feeling I get as I sit cross-legged in the small library staring up at the mighty titles that gaze at me unblinking with the wisdom of many years about them has no parallel in this digital world.

library-425730_960_720


I certainly didn’t think this was the direction my writing would take. It all started with a small memory as a little child growing up in a big house, which hasn’t changed over time as I have. One thing for sure is that I’ll be actively participating in SoCS more often now. For those interested in more of my writing, please check out Pages That Rustle.

How was your bookish childhood? Have any precious memories to share? What are your thoughts on this topic? We’d be happy to open a discussion in the Comments section below.

